Pingree Joins Resolution Calling for Accountability from Members of Congress Who Voted to Undermine Results of 2020 Election


Congresswoman Chellie Pingree (D-ME) Requests Accountability for Those Who Voted to Undermine Results of 2020 Election..

Domestic Terrorists (Thugs)Break into the Capitol January 6, 2021 at the Urging of Trump.

Domestic Terrorists (Thugs) Storming Capitol Hill January 6, 2021.

Congresswoman Chellie Pingree (D-Maine) today joined a resolution introduced by Congresswoman Cori Bush (D-MO). condemning the actions of more than 140 members of Congress who attempted to disenfranchise voters nationwide and undermine the results of November’s election.  It directs the House Ethics Committee to investigate and report on whether any of the members who violated their oath of office, and if so, whether they should face sanctions or removal from their positions.

“After witnessing violent insurrectionists overtake the Capitol and put their colleagues lives at danger, more than 140 members of the House and Senate voted to uphold Trump’s lies about the election and undermine our democracy.  Instead of choosing to move forward with unity after this attempted coup, 140 members of my Republican colleagues instead chose division,” said Pingree in a press released today.

“The US Constitution explicitly states that the ‘no Person shall be a Senator or Representative in Congress if they have ‘engaged in insurrection or rebellion’ against their government.  We must investigate whether their actions violated the oath of office they took a mere 72 hours prior.  Without accountability, there cannot be unity,” Pingree’s comments concluded in the press release.

Within hours of the deadly domestic terrorist attacked on the US Capitol, Pingree cosponsored two separate House Resolutions to impeach President Trump for seditious acts. Pingree also joined her fellow House members in calling for the House to immediately reconvene to reckon with this act of insurrection.

Please visit post herein dated January 7, 2021 in which Congresswoman Signs Two Resolutions Calling for Impeachment of President Trump.