Governor Mills Announces President’s Approval of Disaster Declaration for January Storms for Coastal Counties


Governor Janet T. Mills (D) Gives Her State of the State Address to the Maine Legislature Earlier This Year  in Augusta.

Governor Janet T. Mills (D), the first woman governor of Maine, announced this evening that President Joe Biden has approved Maine’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration to help eight coastal counties recover from back to back severe storms on January 10th and Jauary 13th that brought sigificant flooding and damage.

The President’s Disaster Declaration unlocks federal assistance to help Maine cover the cost of public infrastructure  repairs estimated at more than $70 million from the January storms.  President Biden also approved Individual Assistance requested by Governor Mills that can provide direct relief to certain eligible individuals and families that experienced severe property damage.

The President’s Major Declaration covers public assistance and individual assistance for Maine’s eight coastal counties:  Washington, Hancock, Waldo, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Cumberland and York.

“I thank President Biden for his approval of my request for a Major Disaster Declaration for the January storms that devastated Maine’s iconic coast,” said Governor Mills.  “President Biden’s approval unlocks federal relief funds that will help Maine communities, individuals and families as they repair storm damage.   My Administration  will continue to do everything possible to help Maine communities recover from and become more resilient to catastrophic weather events.”