Disaster Recovery Centers in Skowhegan & Rumford Open Today; 3 More Coming


Governor Janet T. Mills (D) Gives Her State of the State Address to the Maine Legislature Last Month  in Augusta.

Governor Janet T. Mills (D) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced the openng of two Disaster Recovery Centers to help residents impacted by the December 17 – 21, 2023 storm apply for Federal Disaster assistance.

The DIsaster Recovery Centers in Skowhegan and Rumford will serve as central locations where local residents can learn about disaster assistance programs, apply for disaster assistance, check the status of FEMA applications, understand FEMA notices or letters, meet with US Small Business Administration (SBA) agents and obtain referrals to other services.

Federal assistance is avaialable for impacted individuals and families in Anddroscoggin, Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford and Somerset counties.  Additionally, low-interest loans are availabale from the SBA to help impacted businesses of all sizes – as well as eligible homeowners, renters and non-profit organizations – repair or replace property damage resulting from the storm.  Businesses may also be eligible for working capital loans.

In the coming days, FEMA expects to open additional Disaster Recovery Centers in Androscoggin, Franklin and Kennebec counties.  Residents of the five counties designated to receive INDIVIDUAL federal assistance – Androscoggin, Frankliln, Kennebec.  Oxford and Somerset – may visit any Disaster Recovery Center location convenient for them.

Maine residents do not need to visit a Disaster Recovery Center to apply for federal assistance.  Impacted residents can apply for FEMA federal assistance on line by visiting DisasterAssistance.gov or by downloading the FEMA mobile app.  If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free helpline at 800 – 621 – 3362.  Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800 – 621-3362.

Homeowners, renters and businesses can apply for low-interest disaster loans at sba.govdisaster.  If an applicant is unable to access the website, they may call the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800 – 659-2955 or email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov for more information.

Somerset County Disaster Recovery Center is located at 4 County Drive in Skowhegan and is open Sunday through Saturday from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm.  The Oxford County Disaster Recovery Center  is located at the Rumford Municipal Building at 145 Congress Street in Rumford and is open Sunday through Saturday from 8:00 am – 6:00 pm.

The Mills Administration’s  – “Maine Flood Resources & Assistance Hub” – contains links to helpful information, resources and assistance for Maine people who have been impacted by flooding and damges from recent weather.