$11 Million Awarded to Rural Maine Projects Unveiled in Orono


Governor Janet T. Mills (D) Appearing on a CNN Television Morning Show During the Governor’s Winter Conference in Washington, DC. Earalier This Year.

Many Area Eyes Were on the Super Yacht  Rising Sun, Docked at Fore Points Marina on the Munjoy Hill Waterfront Today.  It’s Owned by David Geffen, Entertainment Industry Mogil.  A Gym, Basketball Court, Wine Cellar, Movie Theater Are Among the Yact’s 82 Rooms.  It was Built in Germany.  This is Part of the Portland Foreside Development, the Former Portland Yacht Services, 58 Fore Street.

Governor Janet T. Mills (D) and US Senator Susan Collins (R) this morning joined officials from the Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) to announce that 16 Maine organizations have been awarded $11 million in Federal funding to strengthen economic opportunity in rural Maine communities.

The awards were unveiled during a visit to the University of Maine’s Advanced Structures and Composite Center in Orono, which will receive $1 million to build a new center focused on connecting Maine people with career opportunities in advanced manufacturing.

The awards announced today are part of the NBRC’s Catalyst Program, funded by the federal Bipartisan Infrastructure Law and the Commission’s  Federal appropriations.  Maine awards were selected by the NBRC after receiving a recommendation for funding by Governor Mills.

“These historic investments will strengthen Maine’s heritage industries, enhance our outdoor economy, increase our resilency to climate change, and create good-paying jobs in our rural communities,” said Governor Mills in her remarks this morning in Orono.

“I thank the Northern Border Regional Commission for its continued supportd of rural Maine and the Maine Congressional Delegation for their work to secure the funding that made these projects possible.  Those sixteen organizaations receiving Federal funding are:

University of Maine System; Anson Madison Sanitary District; City of Belfast; City of Presque Isle; Mahoosuc Pathways, d/b/a Inland Woods; Town of Greenville; East Millinocket; Our Katahdin; Town of Stonington; Shiretown Development Corporation; Sunrise County Economic Council; City of Caribou; Lewiston-Auburn Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce; Black Mountain of Maine; Knox County and Town of Eagle Lake.