Governor Mills Nominates Director for New Office of Affordable Health Care


Meg Garratt-Reed, Nominated by the governor to be the Directorof the New Office Health INsurance Marketplace at Maine’s Health & Human Services Department.

Governor Janet T. Mills (D), the first woman Governor of Maine, announced today that she has nominated Meg Garratt-Reed, Director of the Office of the Health Insurance Marketplace of the Maine Department of Health & Human Services as Executive Director of the new office of Affordable Health Care.

The office of Afforable Health Care is an independent, nonpartisan executive agency intended to analyze drivers of health care costs and propose solutions to help Maine people.  The office will study health data and industry policy recommendations to improve health care affordability, quality, access and equity for individuals and families, employees, other health care payers and State government.

Garratt-Reed currently serves as Director of the Department  of Health & Human Services (DHHS) office of the Health Insurance Marketplace, which operates

“Meg’s knowledge, her depth of experience and her outstanding work to establish make her an excellent candidate to lead the new office of  Affordable Health Care,” said Governor Mills. “Maine has seen the largest decline in its uninsured rate of any state in the nation in recent years.  With\ Meg at the helm of this independent, non-partisan organization, I believe we can continue to make headway in expanding lifesaving insurance to more people and inproving health care affordability.”

“I’m honored by this nomination and the opportunity to build on Maine’s nation-leading expansion of coverage to help ensure all Maine people can afford the health care they need,” said Meg Garratt-Reed.  “The office of Affordable Health Care, working with the Governor’s office, legislators and stakeholders, will advance solution to bring relief from rising health care costs to Maine families and businesses in new and meaningful ways.”

Her nomination is subject to review by the Legislature.  The director serves a five year term.