Governor Mills Announces Approval of Major Disaster Declaration for December Storms


Governor Janet T. Mills (D) Gives Her State of the State Address to the Maine Legislature Last Night in Augusta.

Governor Janet T. Mills (D) today announced that President Joe Biden has approved the State of Maine’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration to help ten counties recover from the December storm that caused significant flooding, prolonged power outages and extensive property damage across central and western Maine.

In addition to authorizing assistance to help cover the cost of public infrastructure repairs, the President also approved Governor Mills’ request to make direct assistance available to eligible individuals and famlilies that experienced severe property damage.

The President’s approval will make public assistance available that the State will use to repair public infrastructure in Androscoggin, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington counties.  Individual assistance will be made available to eligible families in Androscoggin, Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford and Somerset counties where federal officials found that the high level of damage met the federal government’s statuory financial threshold for individual assistance.  Eligibility and application information will be made available by MEMA at a later date.